ESIL Book Prize

2017 ESIL Book Prize

The next ESIL Book Prize will be awarded on the occasion of the 13th ESIL Annual Conference to be held in Naples in September 2017. Professor Photini Pazartzis is the ESIL Board member coordinating the 2017 Prize.

The deadline for submitting books to be considered for the 2017 Prize was 31 December 2016.

Publishers should read the ESIL BOOK PRIZE GUIDELINES before submitting books.

2016 ESIL Book Prize

The 2016 ESIL Book Prize was awarded to Dr Arnulf Becker Lorca (Visiting  Assistant Professor of Law, Jurisprudence and Social Thought at Amherst College and Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Erik Castrén Institute of International Law and Human Rights at the University of Helsinki) for his book Mestizo International Law: A Global Intellectual History 1842-1933, published in January 2015 by Cambridge University Press.

Leading publishers in the field of international law submitted a wide range of books published in 2015 for consideration by the ESIL Book Prize jury. The jury members for this year’s Prize were Mariano J. Aznar-Gómez (University Jaume I, Castelló), Pavel Šturma (Charles University in Prague) and Christina Voigt (University of Oslo). The jury agreed to award unanimously the Prize to Dr Becker Lorca’s book.

The jury explained their decision as follows:

''Although we received a number of books of high quality, we voted for this book which meets the criterion of excellent work. The author uses a wide array of primary and secondary sources, and these sources are not limited to works in English, but also include works in French, Spanish, German, and so on. While discussing the question from an historical perspective, the book offers a very interesting discourse on the current situation. The author shows the contribution of the ‘semi-peripheric’ lawyers (those other than European and American lawyers) to the development of international law in the 19th and the first part of the 20th centuries. It fills a gap by analysing the ‘centre-periphery’ discourse which is still present in international law scholarship. Consequently, Dr Becker Lorca´s book offers new paths for future analysis of the discourse about international law in the contemporary epoch''. 

The ESIL Annual Conference in Riga in September 2016 included a conversation with the author about the prize-winning book, and the award was presented during the conference dinner. 

Previous Book Prize winners: 

  • ESIL Book Prize 2015:  Monica Garcia-Salmones Rovira (Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Erik Castrén Institute of International Law and Human Rights at the University of Helsinki) The Project of Positivism in International Law, Oxford University Press, 2014
  • ESIL Book Prize 2014Sandesh Sivakumaran (University of Nottingham), The Law of Non-International Armed Conflict, Oxford University Press 2012; Ingo Venzke (University of Amsterdam), How Interpretation Makes International Law. On Semantic Change and Normative Twists, Oxford University Press, 2012
  • ESIL Book Prize 2012Michael Waibel (Lauterpacht Centre for International Law, University of Cambridge), Sovereign Defaults before International Courts and Tribunals, Cambridge University Press, 2011
  • ESIL Book Prize 2010: Lorenzo Gradoni (University of Bologna), Regime Failure nel diritto internazionale, CEDAM, 2009
  • ESIL Book Prize 2008: Matthew Craven (School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London), The Decolonization of International Law: State Succession and the Law of Treaties, Oxford University Press, 2007