ESIL Young Scholar Prize

In line with ESIL's goals of encouraging high-level scholarship, developing a greater awareness and understanding of international law, and promoting younger researchers, the ESIL Board decided to award the ESIL Young Scholar Prize (YSP) at each ESIL Annual Conference for an outstanding paper submitted and presented by an early-career scholar at the conference. The first Prize was awarded in 2015.

The Prize consists of two years’ free membership of the Society, including a subscription to the European Journal of International Law, and a contribution towards the costs of travel and accommodation at the conference.

The winner of the ESIL Young Scholar Prize is announced in the conference programme and the Prize certificate is awarded during the conference dinner. The prize-winning paper will be published in the European Journal of International Law (subject to review).

ESIL is grateful to Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP (Wilmer Hale), a global law firm, for their sponsorship of the ESIL Young Scholar Prize.

Eligibility conditions for the Prize: Early-career scholars are either PhD candidates or those who have had their oral defence no longer than 2 years prior to the submission of the abstract. Candidates have to be ESIL members at the time of submitting their abstract. Co-authored articles will only be considered if all authors fulfil the eligibility criteria. 

ESIL strongly encourages young scholars to apply for future conferences and compete for the Prize. The YSP jury consists of three ESIL members selected by the ESIL Board.


The 2015 Prize was awarded to Dr Malcolm Langford, Postdoctoral Fellow, Norwegian Centre for Human Rights and Pluricourts Centre of Excellence, University of Oslo, for his paper “Managing Backlash: The Evolving Investment Treaty Arbitrator?” (co-authored with Daniel Behn).