Interest Group on International Legal Theory and Philosophy


Website of the Group

Group email address: Twitter account: @igiltp

Coordinating Committee: Noora ArajärviGleider I Hernández (deputy chair), Jörg Kammerhofer (chair), John Morss, Ekaterina Yahyaoui (website administrator), Ozlem Ulgen



Future events:

  • ESIL IGILTP - Call for Expressions of Interest : First European Conference on the Theory and Philosophy of International Law. Deadline for subsmission: 31 January 2018.

Past events: 

  • ESIL IG on International Legal Theory & Philisophy held a workshop on 6 September 2017 in Naples on the occasion of the 13th ESIL Annual Conference: ‘Global Public Goods, Global Commons and Fundamental Values: The Responses of International Law’ (7–9 September 2017).  The theme of the workshop was: ‘Democracy and Participation versus Global Public Goods and Commons’. Programme of the workshop.
  • ESIL IG on International Legal Theory joint seminar: ‘The Erosion of the Rule of Law in East Central Europe’ on 15 February 2017 at the Aleksanteri Institute, University of Helsinki. Invitation.
  • Joint IEL-ILT Interest Group meeting 11h00 - 18h00, before the ESIL Annual Conference Riga 7 September 2016: ''THE RESILIENCE OF LAW''. PROGRAMME
  • Call for papers and Invitation to Attend: 25th Annual SLS-BIICL Conference on Theory and International Law (25 April 2016).
  • ASIL–ESIL–MPIL Workshop on International Legal Theory, Vienna, 8 September 2014.


In order to be listed as a member of this IG, you need to ensure:

  • You have paid your ESIL membership fee for this year (if not, renew your membership
  • You have created an online ESIL membership account 
  • You have ticked the box next to this IG in the list of groups in your membership account

The conveners of the Interest Group receive automatically-generated updated lists of IG members on the 7th day of each month.

If you have any doubts about your ESIL membership or your Interest Group membership, please contact the ESIL Secretariat.

Election Schedule:

Members of the Coordinating Committee are elected for four-year terms and may be re-elected. The IG has a staggered election model, where four members stand for (re-)election every two years.

  • Gleider I Hernández, John Morss, and Ekaterina Yahyaoui were elected in May 2015 and their terms run until 30 April 2019.
  • The last Coordinating Committee elections took place in May 2017. Noora Arajärvi, Jörg Kammerhofer and Ozlem Ulgen were elected and their terms until 30 April 2021.
  • After the last elections, the Co-ordinating Committee voted for Jörg Kammerhofer to serve as chair, Gleider I Hernández as deputy chair and Ekaterina Yahyaoui as website administrator of the group until 30 April 2019.